Cabinet Jewelry

Have you seen the home improvement shows where they talk about the cabinet hardware as the “jewelry” of the kitchen.

Weird.

I placed the order for the door handles & knobs (finally),  so I’ll be able to attach the new drawer fronts when they arrive.  The white drawers are both driving me nuts and have become invisible to me.  Much the same way that I barely notice that we’ve been using mortar encrusted plywood countertops for months now.  Ew.

Now, I still haven’t ordered the hinges.  Why?  I’ll tell you.  Remember how I’m incorporating some IKEA cabinets into this kitchen?  I actually BOUGHT hinges from IKEA.  They are Blum hinges (same brand of hidden hinges that the cabinet door people sell).  They *seemed* to fit the exact hole on the door.  But the adjustments are a pain in the backside.  Can’t get it to sit quite right.  I’ve proclaimed that we will not do any additional messing around with those hinges until I’m absolutely sure that they are the exact right model.

So last week I purchased – with a FIFTEEN PERCENT HANDLING CHARGE OVER AND ABOVE SHIPPING COSTS – two hinges from the cabinet door people.  One for framed cabinet applications – befitting most of the doors of my kitchen.  One for frameless – for the IKEA cabinets.  The woman at the cabinet door company would not tell me the model # of the hinges – because of COURSE I’m going to scour ebay and beyond to find them cheaper.  So I wait until the box comes and THEN I’ll decide which hinges I need to find inexpensively.

Even though I included the links to these on the last set of comments, here are the pics of the knobs and handles I just ordered.

Knob for the upper cabinets

Knob for the upper cabinets

Handle for the lower cabinets

Handle for the lower cabinets

We really do plan to bust some ass this weekend completing more of the projects.  But we are also supposed to have a heat wave again, so we might wimp out.  Time will tell.  Wish us luck.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cabinets, Hardware, Kitchen

Leave a Reply

