Fields of stone

Let me fill you in on the interesting task of cutting the small soapstone slab that belongs on the narrow counter to the left of the stove.

Bought a diamond blade at Sears for $16 bucks when we were back east.  Seemed challenging to find a 7 inch blade at Home Depot or the other 3 places he went to purchase one back in July.   You cannot get a diamond blade for a cordless circular saw – apparently you need “real” electricity rather than battery to support the blade’s cutting power.  Whatever, dude.  I can’t work the 7 inch saw.  Too heavy and the motor is on the left.  I will hurt myself if I try.  So hubby to the rescue.

Can’t do a straight cut without a guide.  Stone too wonky.  Attempted to setup the neighbor’s table saw and load our blade onto it until we realized that the table saw needed a 10″ blade.  Back to Home Depot.  Woops!  Those suckers are $80 bucks.  I’m nearly ready to bring the slab back to the city to have the professionals cut it.  Then calmer thoughts prevailed and we decided a call to the Tool Lending Library was in order.  Ty to the rescue!  He hooked us up with a clamped guide.  We made the attempt this evening and voila!

 

Check.  Us.  Out.

Check. Us. Out.

 

 

See my arm covered in dust?  This stuff flew around the WHOLE backyard - over 12 feet high

See my arm covered in dust? This stuff flew around the WHOLE backyard - over 12 feet high

 

 

Different veining pattern.  Still gorgeous.

Different veining pattern. Still gorgeous.

 

7 Comments

Filed under Countertop, Kitchen

7 responses to “Fields of stone

  1. Lola

    wonderful! Time for the drawer to change so we can see the full effect.

  2. 10thingsatonce

    I have to buy the handles first. You’ve got me very panicked over that.

  3. Lola

    Hey, this is not your forever home. Buy what’s on sale.

    • 10thingsatonce

      Gah…. I’m not that bright apparently.

      OK. Just tell me if a satin brushed nickel type color will look right. Or do I need to do a darker knob/handle thing. The former is less expensive if that helps your response.

  4. Lola

    brushed nickel is what I’d recommend. I think it works with the room and is “current” which will be good for resale. Because this is not your forever home. Though it is beginning to look mighty good in the kitchen…

  5. Lola

    Both look great. They were just what I was thinking, too. I think that it’s just your choice regarding pulls or knobs on the uppers. I’ve seen it both ways.

Leave a Reply

