A place to put the crockpot!

1.  I cut the toekicks down to accomodate for the height difference we forgot about last week.

2.  We levelled and installed the 30 inch lower cabinet.

3.  I did an adequate job on the veneering for that cabinet.  Not great.

4.  Through sheer force of will, the two of us managed to carry a 300 pound slab of soapstone up from the garage and popped it on top of that bad boy.  Truthfully, he carried a much greater proportional share, but I carried enough of the weight to have me huffing and puffing and feeling a wee bit lightheaded the rest of the day.

So here you go – another glimpse of the future kitchen!  And we now have a place to put the crockpot, so it is CHICKEN GUMBO for dinner tonight!!!

The dining room floor was a waystation until we were ready.  I slipped my hands out of my gloves so we could lay it down.

The dining room floor was a waystation until we were ready. I slipped my hands out of my gloves so we could lay it down.

The adequately veneered 30" cabinet

The adequately veneered 30" cabinet

Rubbing in the mineral oil coating

Rubbing in the mineral oil coating

This stuff is CRAZY pretty.

This stuff is CRAZY pretty.

3 Comments

Filed under Cabinets, Countertop, Kitchen

3 responses to “A place to put the crockpot!

  1. Lola

    it looks beautiful. I am sure that with the drawers and doors your adequately veneered cabinet will look just fine. Can you use wood putty and then a touchup pen for any cuts that weren’t perfect?

  2. Lola

    Oh yeah, and those red hands look very chapped and spooky.

  3. 10thingsatonce

    I’m in the process of finding the right touch-up pen and the right color putty. I’ve tried a few colors and haven’t quite hit it yet. There are blend pencils too – got pretty close with one of those. My only concern is that I need to test it on scrap veneer because all of the places I need to actually apply it are right where you see stuff.

    Yes, chapped & spooky. That’s me.

Leave a Reply

