My 7 year old self comes out

I was in the backyard yesterday pulling nails out of the soffit frame we took down.  Pull a nail, walk 5 feet, put the used nail in a pile by the sawhorses, walk back to pull the next nail.  10 times.  On the 11th time, I forgot how my feet worked and got tangled up in the remnants of the original range hood cabinet.  Flew through the air and landed on my bad hand and hard on both knees.  On the only brick pavement in the whole backyard.  My little pal was out keeping me company and was an excellent triage nurse.  Thank goodness she’s tall enough to reach the ice packs.

Suffice it to say, I was extremely lucky that my injuries weren’t as bad as they could have been.  Including – um – where the hell did the nail I was carrying end up?  Yes, I happen to be current on my tetanus shots.

The whole incident smacked – quite literally – of walking home through the tunnel under the parkway when I was in 2nd grade.  Forgot how my feet worked that day too.  Poor friend Kelly had to run all the way home to tell my mom of my “grave” injuries.   I still have the scar on my left palm.

Today – a teeny bit of painting.  In a teeny area.  The color difference is super subtle in the evening/florescent light.  We’ll see how daylight hits it.  It certainly doesn’t look yellow at all to me right now.  (Well, since it ISN’T yellow that is probably why.)  Altogether still quite lovely.  Tomorrow, second coat in that corner and the rest of the upper cabinets go up.

Primer to kill the obnoxious yellow

Primer to kill the obnoxious yellow

1st Coat in progress

1st Coat in progress

A soft yet saturated caramel

A soft yet saturated caramel

3 Comments

Filed under Kitchen, Paint

3 responses to “My 7 year old self comes out

  1. Lola

    I’m sorry you got hurt. Again. Stop that, now.

    The paint looks very similar, but I know it’s not. It’s going to look very very nice. And it definitely does look yellow.

  2. 10thingsatonce

    It’s hard to tell in the pic, but it really looks nice against the floor. Which is why you told me to go with that color in the first place. Yea LOLA!!! The difference between that corner and the corner by my desk where we haven’t painted yet is phenomenal. Geez, that other yellow is obnoxious.

    I spent some time today feeling sorry for myself, so your brother did the painting for me. Nice guy, him.

    Yes, I’d like to stop getting hurt. You would think it was because I was rushing around. Not true. Actually moving really slowly – as is evidenced by the lack of progress. I’ve just got so many injuries to be wary of, I’m being overly cautious and making it all worse. Grrrrr…

  3. Lola

    I sure wish I could come up and help. Take a picture of the area by your desk. Lola wants to see the difference.

Leave a Reply

