The dishwasher clips don’t make sense

While we were back east, the dishwasher clips came.  They are the precise model that the lovely woman at Whirlpool told me to get (we have a Maytag dishwasher, but it seems that Whirlpool bought Maytag a few years ago).

They don’t fit.  Allegedly, they are to slip into slots on the sides of the dishwasher and get attached to each cabinet on either side of it.  Perhaps there are slots on Whirpool dishwashers, but my lovely 9 YEAR OLD MAYTAG don’t got em.  Since I’m not cutting holes into the plastic front of the dishwasher to mount these puppies, I’m forced to get creative.

From my google research,  countertop installers go a few different routes with this.  One option is to epoxy a firring strip of wood underneath the countertop that you can use to screw the top-mounted dishwasher clips into.  Other options include notching out a hole in the underside of the soapstone and screwing into that.  (No WAY man.)  I found a product that is a metal clip that is mounted to the underside with epoxy, but I’m not sure…

The more I think about it, the more the laws of physics don’t even support side mounted clips.  If the dishwasher legs are on the bottom (well, of course they are), then your wiggle room to get the dishwasher in and out of the opening should be on the top.  You can’t wiggle the cabinets and you wouldn’t want to see space on either side of the dishwasher for side mountings.  I’ve searched high and low and I can’t find close up pics of a side mounted bracket.

So – Rube Goldberg to the rescue.  I’m considering using an appliance strap – similar to the kind that holds the water heater in place, but the one with holes every inch or so.  I’d mount it to the top edge of the cabinet on the left, carry it over the top of the dishwasher, and attach it to the top of the side panel on the right.  Then the clips that are currently on the dishwasher will screw right into it.

Genius!  Unless it doesn’t work.  So I might be back to the Granite Grabbers.

2 Comments

Filed under Countertop, Dishwasher, Kitchen

2 responses to “The dishwasher clips don’t make sense

  1. Lola

    Granite Grabbers sounds like the way to go. But your strap idea is genius.

  2. 10thingsatonce

    I should have bought them two months ago when I found that site. Living with a tipping dishwasher since you left tells me that when the soapstone is installed, even if my strap thing doesn’t work, I can always use it as a temporary solution until I buy the granite grabbers.

Leave a Reply

