Caddyshack in my backyard?

I was unable to verbalize yesterday what I saw while looking for the paint stripper in the pile of tools on what was the back lawn.

This is a gopher.  NOT a rat.

This is a gopher. NOT a rat.

This pic isn’t mine.  I decided to Google this morning when common sense reclaimed its rightful place and I remembered that I’ve been seeing some mysterious holes in the ground back there.

Well, that, and I don’t *think* rats are light gray nor run in plain view in full daylight.

Should having gophers bother me?  I guess I could Google that too.  Not going to, but I could.  Good thing this kitchen took over my ability to plant a veggie garden this year.

4 Comments

Filed under Backyard

4 responses to “Caddyshack in my backyard?

  1. Lola

    Welcome to my world.

  2. 10thingsatonce

    It’s a Cinderella story….

  3. Bill

    Get a baseball to kill the gopher (ask him, it’s a good story). There is no shortage of goghers in the world, so don’t stop to think to get rid of it. And they will desimate your garden when you get back to it.

  4. 10thingsatonce

    OK, I asked. Wow, the rage! Nice aim though.

    Yeah but…. all that is back there now is blackberry. Tons of it. And a few shrubs I don’t want. Well… two small trees I do want, but nothing else. It’d be nice if something else did the weeding for a change – no?

    And have I been blaming the HUGE divots in what is laughingly called the lawn on the dogs all this time (both long dead now), and we’d really always had gophers?

Leave a Reply

