Boots on the ground – Part 2

The majority of the layout “stuck” overnight, but you-know-who struggled with us needing a peninsula and thought perhaps we wanted a more open feel.  We pivoted the corner bench back to its old place of honor as the breakfast nook and sat with it a bit.  I struggled giving up a peninsula because I want to keep my office area defined and still wanted a place for a stool up against the counter – both for the random morning bowl of cereal and also for kitchen seating that ISN’T my desk chair.

I noodled this around – and while he came back to my original plan – I am now struggling.  I still want a peninsula, but should we perhaps only have it as a leg-supported counter area with no cabinetry underneath?  That would allow for a couple of barstools underneath – legs swinging free and leave the remaining area wide open for my office, but also will double as a nice size nook area for The Next Owners (who are really starting to bug me, whoever they are).

The cabinet actually should be facing the other way

The cabinet actually should be facing the other way

Your desk would be messy with all this too - trust me!

Your desk would be messy with all this too - trust me!

And in case you are wondering, still haven’t ordered the doors.  Which in one way is good, since these changes have had a bit of an impact.  Eeek, these will still take 3-4 weeks to arrive.  Some of the veneers came today, but I’ll need to add a few extra panels to the order to accommodate the new configuration.

4 Comments

Filed under Cabinets, Kitchen

4 responses to “Boots on the ground – Part 2

  1. Lola

    How wide is the peninsula supposed to be? Because if it’s not wide enough to work as a purposeful counter, then it will look odd.

    • Lola

      What about a portable island? I know that is not what you want, but it would accomplish two things – it could give you that counter space, plus it would leave a more open nook for The Next Owners.

      • 10thingsatonce

        I already looked on IKEA. Nothing I like there. I have to check jcp.com also.

        I’m going to sleep on this and see how we/I feel in the morning. With nothing there, it feels TOO open to me – I’ve been so used to that bench there.

  2. 10thingsatonce

    15 inches. Or, 15 inches at where the window is and then can angle out to about 20.

Leave a Reply

